Overview, Application & Eligibility Requirements

Alaska Conservation Foundation presents the Conservation Achievement Awards to recognize the remarkable achievements of individuals and organizations committed to protecting Alaska. Alaska Conservation Foundation honors dedicated individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the Alaska conservation movement. Please see Award Categories for a detailed description of each award.

General Eligibility Requirements

  • All nominations must be consistent with Alaska Conservation Foundation’s mission: The Alaska Conservation Foundation protects Alaska’s natural environment and the diverse cultures and ways of life it sustains.
  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • See individual Award Categories for award-specific criteria.
  • Please note that nominees do not need to be Alaska residents.

Selection Criteria

Recipients will be selected based upon the following criteria:

  • How well the nominee exemplifies the purpose of the award for which they are being nominated.
  • How consistent the nominee’s contributions are to one or more of Alaska Conservation Foundation’s favored conservation strategies.
    • Promotes civic engagement and citizen action
    • Employs innovative approaches to building a conservation movement
    • Increases public awareness of conservation issues
    • Employs diverse partnerships
    • Focuses upon enduring solutions and problem-solving
    • Fosters collaboration
  • How consistent the nominee’s contributions are to one or more of the long-term outcomes Alaska Conservation Foundation is working to achieve.
    • A more influential conservation movement
      • More people will volunteer in conservation-related efforts
      • More people will connect their everyday actions to environmental impact
      • More people will become engaged in the public process
    • Enduring conservation impact
      • Reduction in destructive environmental activities
      • Reduction in reliance on litigation strategies
      • More sustainable economic development/activities
    • More robust environmental policy
      • More “favorable” laws and policies for the environment
      • Stronger regulation of policies and enforcement of these laws
      • Stronger environmental protections in place

Nomination Details

Due Date:

Nominations will be accepted from January 1, 2023 – April 16, 2023. 

To Submit a Nomination:

Nomination Form: Complete the 2023 Nomination Form Here

Please contact Michelle Fehribach at (907) 433-8218 or mfehribach@alaskaconservation.org