We are now accepting nominations for our 2019 Conservation Achievement Awards! If you know an outstanding individual or organization working in conservation in Alaska, honor them by nominating them to receive a Conservation Achievement Award! Nominations will be accepted until May 1, 2019. 

Awards this year are being made in the following categories: 

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Celia Hunter Award for Outstanding Volunteer Contributions
  • Olaus Murie Award for Outstanding Professional Contributions
  • Denny Wilcher Award for Young Environmental Activists
  • Lowell Thomas, Jr. Award for Outstanding Achievements by a Conservation Organization
  • Jerry S. Dixon Award for Excellence in Environmental Education
  • Daniel Housberg Image Award for Excellence in Still Photography, Film, or Video 
  • Caleb Punagowiyi Award for Outstanding Achievements by an Alaska Native Organization or Individual

Executive Director, Michael Barber, with the recipient of the 2018 Olaus Murie Award for Outstanding Professional Contributions, Rand Hagenstein

For more information regarding the Conservation Achievement Awards or to nominate a conservation hero, visit this page.

The 2019 award winners will be honored at an event on October 3, 2019 in Anchorage.